If you’ve been charged with assault & battery in Fairfax, Loudoun, or Prince William, you could be facing significant penalties. This is a serious offense and consulting with a northern Virginia criminal attorney will help you better understand your charge, the possible consequences, and possible defense strategies. The Commonwealth of Virginia classifies assault & battery as a class 1 misdemeanor.

If convicted, you may face the following:
·Class 1 misdemeanor
·Maximum 12 month jail sentence
·Maximum fine of $2,500
·Any court-ordered restitution to the victim(s)

Get Help Today for Your Assault & Battery Charge

If the victim is assaulted due to religion, race, color or ethnicity:

·Class 1 misdemeanor
·Mandatory 6 month jail sentence (first 30 days is a mandatory minimum)

If the victim is assaulted due to religion, race, color or ethnicity and is injured:

·Class 6 felony
·Mandatory 6 month jail sentence (first 30 days is a mandatory minimum)

Get Help Today for Your Assault & Battery Charge

Assault and Battery: Defined

·Assault & Battery – The unlawful touching of another. The contact does not necessarily need to result in an injury. The intent of the aggressor, rather than the force used, is what determines whether or not battery as taken place. VA Code § 18.2-57.

·Simple Assault – Either attempting battery on another person or putting that person in reasonable fear of battery. In other words, assault is a verbal threat.

Assault & Battery on a Family Member

Domestic assault is among the most common type of assault & battery charge in Fairfax, Manassas and Leesburg. This is typically referred to as domestic violence and pertains to anyone living in the same household. Once the charges are filed, the wishes of the victim no longer matter because the Commonwealth Attorney decides whether or not the case will be prosecuted. In other words, if you have been the victim of domestic violence but decide you want the case dropped, some prosecutors will still push the court for a conviction.

Get Help Today for Your Domestic Assault Charge

Malicious Wounding Lawyer in Fairfax, VA

Few charges in the State of Virginia carry harsher sentences than that of Malicious Wounding. If you are facing a charge of 20 years to life in prison and a fine of up to $100,000 for Malicious Wounding, you’re going to need the absolute best Fairfax Malicious Wounding lawyer in the area.

You can contact Attorney Michael A. Robinson immediately for a free consultation to discuss your case. He will give you an honest assessment of the merits of your case, as well as sound advice about how to pursue it.

Malicious Wounding is one of the most serious charges in Virginia.

Because of the seriousness of a Malicious Wounding charge, many points have to be proven in court for a person to be convicted. The prosecution must prove that the defendant shot, stabbed, cut, wounded or caused bodily injury to someone else with the intention of inflicting bodily injury as s/he committed the act. It also must be proven, obviously, that the act was done with malice. In addition, the victim must be severely injured, often with a permanent physical impairment resulting as well.

What can an attorney do about my Malicious Wounding Charge?

This opens up many lines of possibility for a skilled Virginia criminal defense lawyer to pursue, such as whether or not “malice” existed in the accused person’s mind, or if the victim is permanently impacted by the incident and has suffered a verifiably severe injury.

The lesser charge of Unlawful Wounding can result if the victim is not severely injured as a result of the alleged attack. That quickly brings the maximum sentence down to one year, and the highest fine to $2,500. A solid Virginia criminal defense lawyer can work to have your charge transformed to the lesser crime of Unlawful Wounding in many instances.

Whether you live in Fairfax or otherwise (Great Falls or Herndon, Lorton or Springfield, Falls Church or Prince William, etc), and have been charged with Malicious Wounding, get in touch immediately with a skilled Virginia criminal defense attorney.

Defending Your Security Clearance in Northern Virginia

Scores of Fairfax County residents have federal security clearances, all of which can be changed or eliminated due to a criminal record. It’s imperative that federal employees maintain a clean slate legally, and it helps immensely to have a lawyer who understands the importance of these clearances and has represented many government employees in court, including several leading members of the military in various cases.

Don’t let a Malicious Wounding charge ruin your life or even result in you spending the rest of your life as an incarcerated person. A lot is on the line with this charge, so you will need the best possible defense that you can muster. Your life as a free man or woman might depend on it.

That’s why it makes great sense to hire Michael A. Robinson, a Virginia criminal defense lawyer with a reputation for fighting tirelessly for his clients. Contact him today for a free consultation, and begin to recover from your incident and prove your innocence to the fullest degree possible.

Domestic Violence Lawyer in Fairfax, VA

Domestic violence can occur at any time and in any relationship. You do not have to be married, engaged or even dating. It can even occur after the relationship ends; when the defendant and the victim no longer live together. It can take many forms including: harassing and annoying phone calls, the destruction of property, protective order violations, assault, battery and malicious wounding. Whether or not the charge is domestic or not depends on the nature of the relationship. Virginia adopts a very broad definition of what it means to be a Family or household member in Va. Code Ann. §16.1-228.

Domestic Violence Charge Defined

“Family or household member” means (i) the person’s spouse, whether or not he or she resides in the same home with the person, (ii) the person’s former spouse, whether or not he or she resides in the same home with the person, (iii) the person’s parents, stepparents, children, stepchildren, brothers, sisters, half-brothers, half-sisters, grandparents and grandchildren, regardless of whether such persons reside in the same home with the person, (iv) the person’s mother-in-law, father-in-law, sons-in-law, daughters-in-law, brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law who reside in the same home with the person, (v) any individual who has a child in common with the person, whether or not the person and that individual have been married or have resided together at any time, or (vi) any individual who cohabits or who, within the previous 12 months, cohabited with the person, and any children of either of them then residing in the same home with the person.

Domestic Violence and EPO’s in Virginia

Domestic violence charges are usually accompanied by an Emergency Protective Order (EPO’s). EPO’s are orders issued by police and/or magistrates that forbid the accused from having any contact with the victim. EPO’s typically last for 72-hours and then they expire on their own. The victim is always free to renew the protective order in a Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court (J&DR). If the protective order is renewed, it is known as a Preliminary Protective Order (PPO). These orders are issued exclusively by a judge and last for several weeks. After the PPO is issued, the victim and the accused must return to the J&DR where a Permanent Protective Order hearing will occur. If the victim is successful at that hearing, the court will issue a Permanent Protective Order which will last for two-years. This order, like all protective orders, will expire on its own. It is important to remember that if any protective order is violated by the accused, jail time is mandatory.

Consequences of a Domestic Violence Conviction in Virginia

Domestic violence convictions and/or the issuance of any protective order can also have profound consequences on employment. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, it is a federal crime for you to possess, ship, transport or receive any firearm or ammunition pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9). This prohibition applies to federal, state, and local governmental employees in both their official and private capacities. Violation of this prohibition is punishable by up to ten years imprisonment. It is similarly unlawful to possess a firearm while being the subject of a protective order.

Contact a Domestic Violence Lawyer in Fairfax

It is clear, and therefore very important to contact a Domestic Violence Attorney immediately. Michael A. Robinson has literally prosecuted and defended thousands of domestic violence and protective order cases throughout Virginia. He understands Virginia’s substantive law and her criminal procedure so you can rely on his experience and expertise should you find yourself charged with a “domestic” related crime.

Robinson Law PLLC
3950 Chain Bridge Road, Suite 6
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 542-4008

Legal Expertise

Assault & Battery
Domestic Violence
Drug Charge
Drunk in Public Lawyer in Fairfax, VA
DUI & DWI Charge
Federal Charges
Larceny
Malicious Wounding
Probation Violation
Driving on a Suspended License
Habitual Traffic Offender
Hit and Run
Reckless Driving
Speeding Ticket
Juvenile Defense, Petit Larceny, Grand Larceny, and Possession of Marijuana


Contact Us

Robinson Law, PLLC provides defense to all of Northern Virginia. Areas served include: Alexandria, Annandale, Arlington, Burke, Centreville, Clifton, Culpeper, Dunn Loring, Fairfax City, Manassas Park, Merrifield, Oakton, Fairfax County, Fairfax City, Fairfax Station, Prince William, Falls Church, Reston, Springfield, Fauquier County, Stafford, Federal Court, Town of Herndon, Frederick, Town of Vienna, Front Royal, Gainesville, Haymarket, King George, Woodbridge, Leesburg, Winchester, Warrenton, Warren, Rappahannock, Manassas, and Loudoun.